Milestones Coronavirus Response. Read all updates here.

Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS)

Students who attend Milestones Day School must take the MCAS test in accordance with state standards.  To graduate with a Competency Determination (“traditional”) diploma from any public school or approved and accredited private special education school, like Milestones, students need to pass their high school coursework, earn enough credits to graduate (as set forth by Milestones and their home district), and pass their 10th grade MCAS (English, math, and one of the sciences offered:  biology, chemistry, physics, or technology/engineering). If a student has accommodations for assessments outlined in the student’s IEP, Milestones Day School will ensure that the student has these same accommodations for the student’s MCAS.

If a student is unable to pass the 10th grade MCAS (and the student has tried three times), a certificate of attainment may be awarded if the following conditions are met:  (1) the student has continued to take course work in MCAS subject that s/he/they did not pass, (2) the student has completed the high school course work with passing grades, and (3) the student has attended 90% of senior year (except for excused absences).  This state-endorsed credential is not equivalent to a high school diploma. It is, however, intended to make available further educational, job training and employment options for students.

MCAS Dates 2019-2020

For the 2019-2020 school year students will be taking their MCAS on the following dates (please make sure the student has ample sleep the night before and a good breakfast to set him/her/them up for success):

Grades 3, 4, 5:

English: March 30 and March 31, 2020

Math: April 28 and April 29, 2020

Science: (grade 5 only) May 13 and May 14, 2020

Grades 6 & 8:

ELA – April 2 and April 3, 2020

Math – May 4 and May 5, 2020

Science: (grade 8 only) May 13 and May 14, 2020

Grade 7:

ELA – April 6 and April 7, 2020

Math – May 8 and May 11, 2020

Grade 10:

ELA – March 24 and March 25, 2020

Math – May 19 and May 20, 2020

Biology – June 2 and June 3, 2020